Peace in the Midst of Chaos

Yesterday was dreadful in many ways.

I woke up with a headache and (my usual) sore back, after a night of interrupted sleep.

If there was any day I needed a nap, it was yesterday. And if there was any day my kids could decide not to cooperate with nap/quiet time… yep, it was yesterday.

So after an hour of my son not falling asleep (it’s usually pretty instant) and my daughter popping in and out of her quiet time room for lots of Very Important Reasons, I decided to try and nap anyway. I could still hear my daughter singing loudly, and then I could my son trying to open his bedroom door but (small mercy) he can’t actually open it yet, so I just let him keep grappling with the handle. And I tried to convince myself that lying down with my eyes shut was better than nothing, even if it didn’t count as a nap.

Well, imagine my horror when I finally decided nap time (or really “no nap time”) was over, and opened my son’s bedroom door to the fresh aroma of poo. There was poo smeared all over the carpet, the bedding, my son (!!), the door handle… and no nappy in sight. To be fair, my boy had done nothing “naughty” – he had even put the offending nappy in the bin himself. He was just ill-equipped to handle the clean up.

My first thought was, “Serves me right for ignoring him when he tried to open the door”.

My second thought was, “I’m too pregnant to deal with this crap!”

But deal with it I did. (After calling my husband to have a mock-cry about the injustice of it all, and receiving his appropriately sympathetic noises and exhortation to “do it in God’s strength”.)

Shortly after that, I had to go out and pick up my grocery “click and collect” order. Supposedly a great convenience, but when I got there one of my lockers was empty and half my order missing. So then I had to call the company only to be told that they would credit my account, but they didn’t know where my goods were. And there went my plans for dinner.

So, some pretty crappy things happened (pun intended).

But some great things also happened. A good friend came over for a cuppa in the morning. The kids and I made shoe box cars for their baby dolls. I baked fresh cheese and bacon rolls for lunch. And (despite no one having napped) we had a brief stop at the playground in the afternoon.

At the end of the day, the kids and I sat outside amongst the cooling air and the autumn leaves, and I was thinking about all things that had gone wrong that day. And something strange happened. I found myself smiling and feeling almost… joyful and calm. I didn’t feel upset about everything that had gone wrong or everything that was left undone. I just felt full. Full of peace.

And I knew that this feeling did not come from myself. It was not something I manufactured. It seemed quite inexplicable, given the events of the day.

DSC_0199

And I thought, “I’m sure there’s a Bible passage that speaks to this.”

Then I read Jenny’s blog post this morning, and it reminded me:

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

That’s exactly what I was feeling – peace that transcends all understanding. Peace that did not come from me, but from God. Peace that made no sense based on the circumstances. Peace that comes from surrendering all anxiety to God, and trusting everything to Him in prayer.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Peace in the Midst of Chaos

  1. ahhh!

    wow, you brought back memories … what a mom will do for a nap … and what a little one will do to avoid it! you did so well!

    perhaps your husband prayed for you after you called him?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. a husband’s prayers covering his wife and children are powerful.

    my girls are 18 and 16. my oldest will graduate the end of this year. she’ll continue to live at home for another year or two until she’s able to make enough money to buy a car and pay for her own expenses and take college classes.

    my 16 year old is my special needs (sped) kid. naptime for her was … a chore. now they do the teenage thing of needing lots of sleep at weird hours sometimes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. btw – i don’t think i’ve ever seen such stunningly beautiful eyes as you and your daughter have! you’re both beautiful, but … your eyes are stunning!

    Like

  4. Haha, that’s very kind of you to say. I thought that picture captured the tiredness in my eyes well 😉

    I’ve heard about the madness of having to wake your kids up when they’re teenagers, and remembering how you used to beg and plead for them to sleep as babes.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. yes. but since i homeschool them, i’m very relaxed on when they sleep. sleep was always an issue, especially with youngest, while in public school. she needs 12 hours of sleep a night, so when she had to be up by 7am (and that was pushing it), she needed to be asleep by 7pm … so all homework and dinner and bed-time routines needed to be finished by 7pm. it was rarely smooth. so stressful. then if she had to get up in the middle of the night for the bathroom, that messed it all up. those were hard days. now … i don’t worry about when she’s awake or asleep unless we have something scheduled that she can’t miss.

    Like

  6. Thank you for the link back. What a crazy day you had, yet God was there taking care of you in the midst of it. It’s been 5 yrs since my last pregnancy and I remember how exhausted I was. A trip to the store required a nap when I got home. Blessings to you and yours.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

