Blogging and Life Updates

Hi Friends,

I have more posts in the works that will be published soon, but in the meantime, I just wanted to call your attention to two new features on my blog…

 

Stuff I Write

The first is a new tab on my menu bar at the top of the page – Published Articles.

Some of you already know this, but BK (that’s Before Kids) I studied Journalism at uni. For many good reasons (like marriage, ministry and kids), I’ve not yet worked in this field. But for the last couple of years, I’ve been trying to “get my foot in the door” in small, manageable ways.

Blogging is part of this – continuing the practice of writing is really important for keeping up writing skills.

Doing some freelance work has been another part of it.

And last year I joined the MOPS Australia writing team as a volunteer staff member, which means I get to write promotional articles about MOPS as well as contributing to the blog. So that’s the kind of thing you will find on my Published Articles page, if you’re interested.

 

Stuff I Make

The second new feature is actually a new craft blog – Make it in the Margins. (You can also find a link over in the right hand column.)

MiitM screen shot

The other aspect of my involvement with MOPS at the moment is that I am the new Craft Coordinator at my local group.

The blog is going to be a fairly low key way of cataloguing all the crafts we do at MOPS, as well as some of the crafty things I do at home. I say “low key” because, with the new baby on it’s way, I don’t want to overcommit myself to a new big thing. My goal is to post each MOPS craft at the very least, because organising these crafts is something I’m going to be doing anyway.

I’m particularly hoping this will be useful to other MOPS craft coordinators, but many of the crafts will be things you could easily do on your own. So if you are craftily-inclined, pop on over and have a look!

 

Getting Real

At this point, some of you may be wondering why someone who writes so much about the value of being a stay at home Mum, being a good helper to my husband, home-making, etc seems to now be taking on many things that are, well, not those things…

Well, the first thing to clarify is that I’m actually not taking on much more. I’ve already been writing and I’ve already been creating things in my spare time. It’s just that I am now publicly cataloguing those efforts.

But here’s the more important thing…

I think I am a rather, shall we say, unambitious person. And I don’t think that’s a bad thing. I’ve written before about how I would be content to live a life of “faithfulness in the small things”. As long as I am serving Jesus, I know what I do is incredibly valuable.

I think I would happily be a stay at home wife for the rest of our lives, faithfully serving the family and (hopefully) getting really good at it! I think that is an incredibly noble thing for women to do.

But my husband has always said that he would like me to go back to (or just “to”?) work once all our kids are in school. And lately, we have contemplated whether that would be sooner (for various reasons).

He has enough ambition for the both of us, and then some left over! He is a passionate dreamer and a visionary, and I think I have been standing next to him for long enough that my branches have dried out and I’m starting to catch his fire.

Being a stay at home mum was always my dream growing up, and here I am, living that dream! And I’d love for my husband to have the chance to live his one day too.

When the time comes for me to go back to work, I would happily scrub toilets or stack shelves or answer phones if that’s what I need to do. I mean, I practically have a degree in scrubbing toilets at this point ;).

But we both think it would be really amazing if I could somehow make a career out of writing. That’s what I’m passionate about and what I really enjoy doing.

And that’s the bigger story behind these new features on the blog. This is me taking a step in faith, starting to lay the foundation for perhaps being paid to write one day. Thanks for listening 🙂

2 thoughts on “Blogging and Life Updates

  1. Thanks Jess. It’s good to know you have a passion for your family and for writing. I hope and pray you are able to share your insights into life with many over the coming years because you have a wonderful way of connecting with others. God bless and guide. LK

    Like

Leave a Reply

