New Year, Same God

2015 has been such a big, crazy year. Emotionally, it has been a bit of a roller coaster. There were so many things that happened that I just had no idea were coming.

Starting a blog was a big one – I’ve had blogs before (one day, I might be brave enough to link to my old blog – it’s still out there). But I really didn’t think I had the time for it in this season. Thanks to some gentle nudging from my husband, I decided to jump in with a relaxed, “write when I feel like it” approach (and a loose goal of writing one post a week). And I’m glad I did.

At the start of 2015, we were thinking that adding more kids to our family would be a few years off. But then we got pregnant, lost that baby, and then got pregnant again.

There’s been a lot of growth in our marriage this year, with the Lord convicting me of some sinful attitudes on my part, and also opening my eyes to understanding my husband better as a person. And once again, I find myself wondering – how is it possible that we are even more in love now than we were on our wedding day?

 

With all these ups and downs of the last year, I realise – I am the same person I was a year ago. I am the same person, but I am changing and being changed. I will not be complete until the day I leave this world, and go to worship Jesus forever.

I will not reach perfection, until I am fully united with Jesus.

When I look to God, who does not change and does not need to change, I am so thankful for His constancy and steadiness.

When I feel tossed around by emotions, He is a rock to cling to.

When my doctrines and understandings are challenged and tested, He is the Truth to pursue.

When friends let me down or disappoint me, He is faithful to His word.

When I keep stumbling over the same things, He is the reason I get up and try again, and the Grace to do so.

 

 

If you are looking back on a year of ups and downs, and maybe wondering what’s the point of even pursuing growth, I want to encourage you to take your eyes off yourself (again) and look at our God who never changes.

If there is one thing I do this year, I hope I will look upon God more and myself less.

 

4 thoughts on “New Year, Same God

  1. “look upon God more and myself less”

    This is great and it is a fitting reminder to start my year with too. It is like the acronym for joy:
    Jesus first
    Others second
    Yourself last

    God bless my friend and I look forward to many more encouraging and convicting posts from you in 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

