Wives: Be Utes, Not Bulldozers

After a day full of small tensions, I finally asked my husband what was wrong as we got into bed. I said I felt like he had been mildly angry at me all day, and I wanted to know if I’d done something wrong.

I don’t know about you, but sometimes when I ask “what have I done wrong?” I don’t really think there will be anything. The question is merely a cover to raise my grievances. Sometimes I am blind to my own sin, assuming that my husband is the only one in the wrong.

But this particular time, I genuinely wanted to know. I knew I wasn’t an innocent party.

“Sometimes…no, most of the time… you’re like a ute…” he started.

Well, this ought to be interesting, I thought.

... Because I would definitely be pink if I were a ute!

… Because I would definitely be pink if I were a ute!

“You’re right there beside me, and we’re going the same way and getting things done. And you’ve got a tray, and I can put stuff in it, and you can handle it.”

(At this point I burst into giggles. My husband has a very… unique way with words.)

He continued, “But other times, I feel like you’re more of a bulldozer. You just drive around, knocking everything over and it’s your way or the highway.”

bulldozer

“And today, you’ve been acting a lot like a bulldozer. That doesn’t excuse my anger, and I’m sorry for it. But that’s how I’m feeling.”

“Do you know what I mean?”

After I recovered from giggling, I said, “Yes, I know exactly what you mean.”

Then I snuggled in close and said, “I’m sorry for being a bulldozer.” (We’re big romantics around here 😉 )

The next day, as I reflected on the conversation, Proverbs 14:1 came to mind:

The wise woman builds her house, but with her own hands the foolish one tears hers down.

Will you build your house, or tear it down?

Will you be a ute, or a bulldozer?

Wives, the choice is ours.

5 thoughts on “Wives: Be Utes, Not Bulldozers

  1. LOL!!!! That is so funny and cute! I kept wondering what an ute was!!! Language barrier here!!!!

    It’s both annoying and yet appreciate, right, when your husband calls you out on bad behavior! I love him more for it. ❤ Ya'll sound so cute!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: A Gentle Adventure | Delightful Oak

Leave a Reply

